REFLEXOLOGY ARKANSAS

Reflexology is a protocol of manual techniques such as thumb and finger-walking, hook and backup, and rotating on a point applied to specific reflex areas predominantly on the feet and hands. These techniques stimulate the complex neural pathways linking body systems, supporting the body’s efforts to function optimally. The effectiveness of reflexology is recognized worldwide by various national health institutions and the public at large as a distinct complementary practice within the health services field.

Practitioners wishing to practice Reflexology as a professional for fee, barter, or trade, in Arkansas are governed by the Department of Health. There are exemptions to this law, so you may wish to read the law to see whether you need a massage license or not. There are Rules & Regulations which are also important to read and understand for licensed massage therapists working in Arkansas. Reflexology laws, registration, and regulation vary by state.

My classes are designed for anyone to participate and practice this amazing artistic science, but please be aware that you should not charge for services offered to the public unless you have a proper license to touch the feet and/or hands. Please verify your eligibility by contacting the appropriate city and/or state officials regulating your Scope of Practice.

Many of the classes included in the requirements for certification are accepted for continuing education requirements by the Arkansas Department of Health and the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy (ASBPT).

Stephenie A. Cooke is one of only 4 nationally board certified Reflexologists in Arkansas by the American Reflexology Certification Board (ARCB). She is certified in both the feet and hands. Stephenie holds a Massage Therapy Instructor license with the Arkansas Department of Health.

FOUNDATIONAL MATERIAL AND CLASSES:

  • Registration/Mentoring work with Stephenie (includes hands-on time), 8 hours credit towards certification.
  • Purchase Reflexology Beginners DVD package and will have some reading assignments for 12 hours of credit towards certification. This comes with my 90-minute DVD, instruction booklet, “fake” foot, history book, and other items. If you wish NOT to purchase the whole kit, you will need the DVD/booklet and history book by Christine Issel for the 12 hours of credit (non-ADoH).
  • Reflexology & Related Modalities Phase 1, 6 hours by the ADoH/ASBPT.
  • Reflexology & Related Modalities Phase II, 15 hours by the ADoH and 12.5 hours ASBPT.
  • Introduction to Hand Reflexology, 7 hours by the ADoH/ ASBPT.

ADVANCED CLASSES:

  • CHOICE OF: Communication Techniques for Body Workers or other Business Basics & Marketing course, 6 hours by the ADoH.
  • Foot Reflexology: A&P and Conditions, 9 hours by the ADoH.
  • Advanced Techniques, I 7 hours by the ADoH.
  • Alternative Considerations for Reflex. Session, 6 hours by the ADoH.
  • CHOICE OF: Hand Reflexology: A&P and Conditions, 9 hours by the ADoH OR Advanced Tech 2, 6 hours by the ADoH with 3 hours additional assignments for certification.
  • Case Studies with Documentation – 40 hours of credit towards certification.

Guidelines for the Reflexology Certification Program:

1. Past attendance in Reflexology classes will be “grand-fathered” in as part of this program if no more than 12 months have lapsed by the time you register.

2. Your status in this program is in jeopardy if a class is not taken within a 12-month period.

3. Class fees and dates of offerings are subject to change. No discounts may be applied to participate in this program. You may repeat a class(es) at a 50% discount if you return within 12-months of your original attendance for said class(es).

4. In order to obtain a certificate, all classes have to be attended, case studies must be presented with a score of PASS and a practical and final exam must be taken with a score of 75% or better.

5. Payments are expected at the time of class, mentoring, or testing. Most participants pay as they register for each individual class or classes.

6.Instruction for the documentation process is by appointment, small class or conference call.

7. 40 case studies lasting 60 minutes each, with a minimum of 10 clients.

8. You must use the documentation forms/layouts provided to you by A Nurturing Touch/Stephenie A Cooke.

9. Grading will be done on a pass/fail basis and a score of pass is required for completion of the course.

Many of the classes included in the requirements for certification are accepted for continuing education requirements by the Arkansas Department of Health and the Arkansas State Board of Physical Therapy (ASBPT).

*Please note: there is no timeline to complete the program. You take classes and participate at your own pace. I suggest you attempt to complete all coursework within 24 months.